Posted by: vjicha | November 16, 2006

Hidden Valley Woolen Mill

The Hidden Valley Farm and Woolen Mill, www.hiddenvalleyfarmwoolenmill.com/, a magical, bucolic place, is west of I-43 and Manitowoc, WI about 10 miles. On my way North from Milwaukee today, I decided to go check it out. I had Mapquested the address, and the directions were accurate, although the distance seemed further than I expected.

As I turned into the driveway, I saw a typical farm yard and a couple of pens with sheep. At first I was unsure whether to knock at the house or the out building on the right of the driveway but then noticed the Welcome sign on the shed, gave the door a knock, and heard “Come in” from the other side of the door.

The Woolen Mill occupies two levels of what may have been a barn at one time. The lower level includes wool and polyester batts, weaving shuttles, and fabric for quilt backs. Stairs lead to the upper floor, which includes yarns of various blends and colors, spinning wheels, and a tying frame from quilt tying over thick, lusurious wool batts. Carol Wagner, the owner, was behind the counter, and showed me around. She was friendly, helpful, and welcoming.

I have always believed in buying locally whenever possible, and the prospect of finding locally prepared wool within easy distance of home was exciting. The Wagner raise registered Coopworth sheep, which are native to New Zealand. They also do their own dying. If you are in the area, I would certainly recommend a visit. I bought enough yarn to make a Fair Isle sweater, and when it is finished, I will post an image.

Responses

  1. Great blog. Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

