Posted by: vjicha | March 17, 2007

A Pair of Socks on One Needle

The socks posted previously were knitted on 4 double-pointed needles. Since that time, I have cycled through 2 circular needles, finally arriving at one 40” circular needle, on which I knit both socks at the same time.

There are pluses and minuses to knitting this way. Look at the photo carefully, and you can see that I knit from the outside and inside of the ball of yarn, which means that the colors for one sock are the reverse of the other sock. Never has “two-ended-knitting been so evident. Of course, if you buy two balls of yarn, this won’t be a problem—but I was too cheep. Besides, sock yarn is expensive.

These socks were made out of Austermann, which I love. It has a soft, luxurious hand, and knits up beautifully.

Responses

  1. Hi I knit two at once from one ball of wool and what I did was to wind off half the ball, weighed it to check and then knit them both at the same time but from two separate balls I had created from the one ball. Hope that makes sense?


Leave a Reply

Categories

