Posted by: vjicha | May 9, 2007

Aran Weight Victorian Lace Shawl

Well, I finished it. The pattern comes from elann.com and calls for their Uros Aran, which is what I used. I love the drape of it, and it stays on my shoulders. As each ball of yarn is used up, you switch to the next larger needles, starting on US 7 (4.5mm) and ending with US 11 (8.0mm).

This shawl uses three lace patterns. Starting at the neck is English Mesh Lace, (shown above)

followed by Horseshoe Lace,(shown above)

and ending with Mini Vine Lace.(shown above)

The directions were pretty sketchy as to how to fold in the increases once you are in the Mini Vine Lace pattern, which is probably why my vines swagger from side to side. The photo on the Elann site does not do that, although I kind of like it. I would like to try this again with different yarn (have some in my stash) and different lace patterns, which I think would be pretty easy to do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

