Posted by: vjicha | February 11, 2008

Double-Pointed Needle Cases?

I know this blog is about knitting, but I had a bit of inspiration a couple of weeks ago. I had about a dozen quilt blocks left over from a bed quilt. With a quilt show coming up in my area, I thought, “What could I do with these?” Then it came to me. How about knitting needle cases?

I made a large case, big enough to contain all of my double-pointeds, and took it to my local yarn shop. The owners were excited about it. Another customer who was there suggested that a small needle case for sock knitters would be great, particularly for those times when you are going away for the weekend and just want to take a couple sizes of needle, not your entire collection. Thus, 6″ blocks became needle cases. What do you think?

It didn’t take long to run out of left over blocks. Now I am making them expressly for this purpose. The blue/burgandy one is new, and the pink/green one was made out of a left over block.

Responses

  1. This is a great idea. I am a quilter and a knitter and want to put my dpn in something I can see other than a pencil case. Thank you…


Leave a Reply

Categories

