Posted by: vjicha | September 8, 2008

Holiday Knitting, etc.

It’s that time of year again when we knitters start thinking about gifts and wrapping up those we love in handknit items. As soon as I got past the TKGA Level III certification, (did I mention that I passed? I’m now a Master Knitter. Yipee!) I tuned to sweaters for my 3 preteen grandchildren. I also looked at my stash and was able to work out of it for 2 of the 3. I have two older grandchildren – teenagers and boys, who like to do their own shopping.

Daniel is 7, and I finished his sweater last week. The pattern is from an old SandasGarn publication-the same book used for the Nordic Sweater posted previously. It’s a great collection. The dark blue is Sisik.

Daniel has two sisters, and in the works for them are a sweater out of Hip Knits and a poncho of Ticker Tape by Moda Dea.

This Past Weekend
Always looking for good classes to offer at Monterey Yarn, my LYS, I rediscovered Knitting Ganseys by Beth Brown-Reinsel. What a wonderful book. Every step to make a gansey is presented with detailed instructions, good photographs, and an 8″ to 10″ sampler sweater to knit to learn the techniques. What did I learn? I learned and fell in love with the Channel Island Cast on, made and overlapped welts for the first time, worked underarm gussets, and knit shoulder straps to join the front and the back. The little sweater knit up in a weekend, probably about a total of 4-6 hours. I just worked through the book, chapter by chapter. The sampler sweater will be displayed at the shop to advertise the class to begin in January. Class participants will need to buy the book and 1 skein of Cascade 220.

Leave a Reply

Categories

