Posted by: vjicha | March 8, 2010

Quilt Show in April

The Evergreen Quilt Show, a biannual event, is in April, the 10th and 11th, in Green Bay, Wisconsin, and for the third show in a row, I am the Chairperson. The quilt entries are coming in, the Quilt Show committee has done a good job, and it should be a great show.

For the first time, I am entering an art quilt, and I’m pretty excited about it. The project started as a photograph of the view from my sister’s A-frame cabin in North Carolina. I told her that I would turn the photo into a wall hanging to go over the fireplace in the cabin. That was 2 years ago. This year I got my act together and decided to complete the wall hanging for her Christmas present.

The challenge was that I had never done anything like that before, so I sort of made up the process as I went along. I found a web site that explained how to transform a photo into a pattern.

With that I was able to transform the exact shape of the distant Blue Ridge Parkway. The rest was done “by ear” as musicians say. Perhaps the most fun was collecting the fabrics to make it all happen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

