Posted by: vjicha | April 25, 2011

Beginnings, Again!

It seems I am forever restarting here on this blog. Life gets “too much with me” and my entries fall by the wayside, but that is about to change. I have recently retired from a full-time job, which should mean that I have more time. The reality is that, so far, I am busier than I ever was. Friends asked me what I was going to do with my time, and I blithely replied that I was going to start cleaning out drawers and closets, etc. Actually, I have been trying to catch up with ironing and several unfinished projects.

The first unfinished project I tackled was a quilt I had started 2 years ago. Six blocks were done – all pieced by hand. I am having trouble with my hands, and knew that I could no longer grip a sewing needle for long periods of time – certainly not long enough to finish piecing the quilt by hand. It was a quilt design I had created through Quilt-Pro so I printed out templates to sew with the machine. Unfortunately, a machine-pieced block turned out larger than a hand-pieced block. What to do?

I created a table runner out of 3 of the blocks, and it festooned out Easter dinning room table yesterday.

Ohio Star Table Runner

made from hand-pieced blocks

Leave a Reply

Categories

