Posted by: vjicha | September 9, 2011

Aging Is Not for Sissies

That is what my mother-in-law used to say. “Aging isn’t for sissies.” Well, she was right. Health issues are at the front of my mind these days, and I wonder how others cope with the chronic problems that seem to be accumulating: arthritis, carpal tunnel, aches & pains, and more.

I sleep less well, have less energy, get out of chairs with more difficulty, and gain weight by just looking at food. Exercise is limited because of the arthritis, and all I really want to do is sit. Not a good prescription for longevity.

My father passed away in July at the ripe old age of 101, and it is pretty clear to me that I will not make three figures. I suffer from many of the same maladies that he had, although he remained physically more active than I am into his late 70s. He was a walker, hiker, fisherman, and gardner. While I am blessed to not have inherited his hearing loss, I certainly inherited his arthritis.

Then there is the dichotomy between “needing to” and “wanting to”. I Need to walk every day, but I don’t Want to. I Need to limit my calorie intake, but I don’t Want to because I like to eat. I Need to change my lifestyle, but I don’t Want to because I like my life the way it is.

What a quandry! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Responses

  1. Oh, Vicky – can I relate! But 3 years ago, when Ted was diagnosed with peripheral neuropathy we knew WE had to do something to prolong the use of his legs. We joined a fitness center and started working out. We go 6 days a week, “religiously”. It has helped both of us – I am now doing 4 miles on the elliptical trainer, plus lifting weights. (it takes about an hour) and Ted rides bikes and does other aerobic stuff. While we are older than you are, (it’s hard to believe 77 and 82) we do well. AND – paying the monthly fee for the fitness center makes me want to get my money’s worth!
    As far as weight is concerned, it has to be your decision. Get a partner and weigh in once a week – go to Weight Watchers – whatever. It IS mind over matter. You have to make a goal. I weight myself EVERY DAY – and that tells me how much I can or cannot eat that day. Think young – do you want to be in a walker or wheelchair. Look at others and think of looking like that!
    It’s sad – I feel sorry for people like that, but I will do ANYTHING to not get to that point. I have a hip problem, but got a Cortisone injection in Nov. and I am able to climb stairs, walk, and get out of chairs “with no hands”. I may be “old” in years, but I’ll be damned if I will act like I’m old. – But – we, too have less energy and cannot do as much each day as we used to.
    I’ll add you to my prayers about this – I wish we were living closer and we could encourage each other.


Leave a Reply

Categories

