Posted by: vjicha | November 4, 2011

It’s All in the Music

I spent the afternoon listening to great music and was left asking, “What is it in the music that moves us so profoundly?” I just turned on my Ipod, set it to the Classical genre, and let it run while I prepared dinner in the kitchen.

The first album that blew me away was the Gabrieli set that the brass sections of Chicago, Cleveland, and Philadelphia recorded sometime in the 70s (I think). It is amazing playing and astounding writing, even though it comes out of the early Baroque. I probably should have played a brass instrument, because I so love that recording. It probably also has to do with the fact that I know most of the Chicago players on that recording, and they were great people as well as great players.

The next selection on my Ipod is Bartok’s Concerto for Orchestra, again played by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. It reduced me to tears. Why is that? I know that piece inside and out, yet it can still speak to the depths of my soul.

Leave a Reply

Categories

