Posted by: vjicha | January 15, 2012

Energy Levels Waning! Send Help!

I drove down to Milwaukee yesterday to stay with my 3 grandchildren while their parents fly to Arizona to run a marathon. Shouldn’t be much work. Right? They are in the 7th and 5th grades so quite self-sufficient. They know where everything is, can cook for themselves, etc., but somehow, it isn’t so easy as all that.

I’m afraid my husband and I are pretty spoiled with a quiet life. Everything has a place and, for the most part, gets put away when we are done with it. Not so here. The house is small for a family of 5 and the kids just leave things where they last used them, so basically they live in a state of controlled chaos. Drives me crazy.

My response to the situation was so tell them that I was going to throw away anything that I found on the floor, with the exception of shoes. That got everybody scrambling. Pretty soon the floor was clean enough that I could run the vacuum cleaner.

I’ve gotten quite a bit of knitting done here. Working on placemats for our newly renovated kitchen. I picked a herringbone pattern from one of the Barbara Walker books and should be able to finish one while I am here.


Image
I leave Monday and should get back to Green Bay with just enough time to prepare for the Knitting 102 class that meets at Monterey Yarn that night. Hope the weather cooperates and the Packers win on Sunday. Go Pack Go!

Responses

  1. Ah, grandchildren. All I have are grandcats, granddogs, and grandchickens (we eat the great-grandeggs).


Leave a Reply

Categories

